Sunday, September 28, 2014

Things I learned lately - 28 Sep

  • A McDonald's burger patty is cooked for 40 seconds using a two-sided grill.
  • We now have a spacecraft 30km from the surface of a comet. Soon, we will land a probe on that comet.
  • Canada has 102 CF-18 Hornet fighter jets. The US has 1227 of them.
  • Kanye West stopped performing on stage in Sydney because a couple of people in the crowd wouldn't stand up at his command. They were handicapped. He actually waited for confirmation from security guards that they couldn't stand before he sang again.
  • The entire current solar energy capacity (not potential) of the US is just over 4.5 Gigawatts. China plans to have over 70 Gigawatts of solar on the grid by 2017.
  • The cost of solar panels has declined 80% since 2008.
  • The gelatin in Jello is made from the collagen taken from pig and cow skin and bones.
  • There's a teddy bear in every Dutch police car in case something troubling happens to a child.
  • If you stare at another person in Germany, people will think you're either uneducated or mentally ill.
  • The reason cashews are sold shelled is because between the shell and the seed there exists a layer of urushiol, which is poisonous to some people. Cashews are roasted or boiled / steamed before sale.
  • Dark chocolate feeds your body's good bacteria.

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Gelatin is a protein obtained by boiling skin, tendons, ligaments, and/or bones with water. It is usually obtained from cows or pigs. Gelatin is used in shampoos, face masks, and other cosmetics; as a thickener for fruit gelatins and puddings (such as Jell-O); in candies, marshmallows, cakes, ice cream, and yogurts; on photographic film; and in vitamins as a coating and as capsules, and it is sometimes used to assist in “clearing” wines. Gelatin is not vegan. However, there is a product called “agar agar” that is sometimes marketed as “gelatin,” but it is vegan. It is derived from a type of seaweed.
Kosher symbols and markings are not reliable indicators on which vegans or vegetarians should base their purchasing decisions. This issue is complex, but the “K” or “Kosher” symbols basically mean that the food-manufacturing process was overseen by a rabbi, who theoretically ensures that it meets Hebrew dietary laws. The food also may not contain both dairy products and meat, but it may contain one or the other. “P” or “Parve” means that the product contains no meat or dairy products, but it may contain fish or eggs. Kosher gelatin is usually made from a fish source.

Read more: